Home > Favreaus, media misogyny, sarah palin, women leaders > Ghar ki murgi vs. bahar ka murga

Ghar ki murgi vs. bahar ka murga


Contrast:
Palin Attacks Fed on Hong Kong Visit, Wants ‘Responsible China’

with

Ahmadinejad urges Obama to see Iran as friend

They couldn’t have said for the former: Palin urges ‘responsible China’, cites concerns about Fed direction. Like the German POWs who were given priority seating in concerts and musicals in New York over black Americans in the 1950’s (read here), the average American today shows more restraint and respect when talking about a demented male dictator from a country far away, a potential threat to the US – than a domestic female politician. Maybe a hundred years from now, we’ll see real change. Or maybe not.

Asked about the difficulties of balancing her political career with her home life, Palin said today: “I have a husband. I could have used a wife.”

Like my own grandmom told me when she visited my chaotic house as I’d started working – I need a housewife myself.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

